Share This Article

On 1 January 2021, the relationship between the European Union (EU) and the United Kingdom (UK) changed significantly. With the end of the Brexit transition period came a permanent change to everyday life including residence, travel and trade.

If you are a UK citizen you are now only permitted to stay within the EU for up to 90 days within a 180 day period. There will be a separate 90 day limit on certain EU states including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania who are not part of the EU’s border-free area. Travel to and from Ireland will not change.

Don’t worry, you can go for longer stays however you will need to apply for a visa. To stay within an EU state for longer than 90 days for travel, work, study or to conduct business you’ll need a visa, even if you are moving from state to state.

The automatic right to live and work in the EU has now ceased and any individual or family wishing to move from the UK to the EU will need to apply for residency in accordance with that country’s immigration rules.

If you are a UK citizen and you wish to move or stay within an EU member state for a period longer than 90 days, one of our Immigration Experts can help.